Home Books 10 Best Books like Percy Jackson You should Try Once (2021)

10 Best Books like Percy Jackson You should Try Once (2021)

Best Books like Percy Jackson

Everyone is aware of Percy Jackson, the amazing pentalogy of adventure novels. With numerous books in the series adapted into movies, children are intrigued by these awesome adventurous books and still read these books today. We’ve compiled a list of the best alternative storybooks to the Percy Jackson series.

All the books featured in this list are highly sensational and retain the fantasy, spirit, humor, and adventure depicted in the Percy Jackson storybooks. These books are written by critically acclaimed authors. Moreover, these books are suitable for kids, teens, and even young adults.

Here are the Best Books like Percy Jackson:

The Seven Wonders (series)

These books are written by Peter Lerangis. It’s Jack McKinley’s 13th birthday and he has to search for the seven wonders of the ancient world. He should find seven magical loculi and has just five months for this task.

He should fulfill this task or die. A secret organization promises to save the lives of kids. This organization will bind the seven pieces together. Jack and other adventurers will have to make their way to the first wonder at the Colossus of Rhodes, this is the place where they’ll save many lives. Let your kids delve into the exciting fantasy land of wonders and gather all the information required to save the protagonist.


Loki’s Wolves (Blackwell Pages)

Loki's Wolves (Blackwell Pages)

Written by K.A Armstrong and M.A Marr, this story revolves around Matt, who is a descendant of the Norse god Thor. The story has an interesting plot. Matt, along with his friends Laurie, and Fen, is forced to fight in the place of the gods and counter Ragnarök.

Matt Thorsen soon becomes a slayer of monsters and trolls. Ragnarök is Read the book to know whether this is a sign of Armageddon. The series is particularly for the fans of Magnus Chase.

The interesting plot will keep you hooked for many days. The main character is forceful. Altogether, the story packs an adventure fuelled with action and larger-than-life legends.


Mark of the Thief trilogy

 Written by Jennifer Nielsen, this is a false Prince trilogy. Percy Jackson and Harry Potter lovers will find this pretty intriguing. The protagonist is Nick, who like his sister, is a slave in ancient Rome. One day while searching for gold, he comes across a magical amulet that belonged to emperor Julius Caesar.

This amulet gives him certain magical powers. But his control over the powers is an entirely different matter. The character becomes both a target and a scapegoat in a political conspiracy.

This one is a tale of greed and power. Further, it will portray the circumstances in which destiny prevails over other factors. The second book- Rise of the Wolf is equally engaging.


The Twilight (series)

Stephenie Meyer is the author of this amazing novel series which comprises a total of four vampire-themed fantasy romance novels. Since the release of the first book, the series has gained immense popularity among the youth and children, of course. The main character is Isabella “Bella” Swan, a girl who falls in love with a vampire.

One of the best vampire fiction novels, this has been a bestseller for many years. Teens and young adults love the bond of a human and a vampire. The series even has an encyclopedia called the Official Illustrated Guide. It has been adapted into movies, which have succeeded in capturing the hearts of millions of viewers.


The Hunger Games

Hunger Games

The genre of this series is a dystopia, which is quite popular these days. The author behind these amazing science fiction books is Suzanne Collins. The universe is set in a fictional North American country known as Panem where poverty looms over many states.

The children from the first 12 districts are selected via lottery to participate in a battle royale deathmatch known as The Hunger Games. The series remained a bestseller for many years, only behind Harry Potter. All the novels have been developed into movies starring leading actors. Fans will be extremely happy to know that the prequel to the series titled The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes will be released on May 19, 2020.


Artemis Fowl

Authored by Eoin Colfer, this is a series of eight fantasy The series follows Artemis Fowl and his amazing adventures. In the first book, the protagonist sets out to restore his family’s fortune.

It is interesting to understand the gradual change in the character of Artemis, as he will become a savior in the end. Perhaps, a villain serving the role of hero is pretty exciting and he will resolve the conflicts with worldwide ramifications.

The series has even graphic novel adaptations. Seeing the success of the novels, Disney decided to produce a film based on the series. A movie based on the first novel ‘Artemis Fowl’ will be released on the Disney+streaming platform in June 2020.


The Atlantis Saga

Atlantis, as the name suggests is based on the Lost City of Atlantis. The series comprises four books written by T. A. Barron. The final book is mostly available as an eBook. A young boy named Promi, along with a courageous girl Atlanta has to save their home from the ravages of an ongoing war between the spirit and human worlds.

Their vow to save and land has many repercussions. Get yourself ready to immerse yourself in the magical land of Ellegandia. Children and teens will surely love these stories. The series is appropriate for the fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, Christopher Paolini, and T.A. Barron’s Merlin saga. The intriguing plot will ensure that you are never struck by boredom.


Gods and Heroes Mythology Around the World

Written by Korwin Briggs, this collection features characters from a broad range of world legends and myths. These heroes existed at the time when there were no superheroes like Batman, Spiderman, or Superman.

About 70 characters and 23 unique cultures around the world are included in this series. Readers will be able to recognize many of the gods and goddesses, but the choice of numerous figures will spark interest.

Apart from gods and goddesses, you’ll get to know about warriors and kings, enchanted creatures, and earth-shaking giants. What’s more? The fantasy land of dragons awaits you. Surely, the collection will satisfy the keen and curious minds of young readers.


The Cronus Chronicles Trilogy

Written by Anne Usru, this amazing

story has Charlotte Mielswetzski and her cousin Zee as the main characters. The first part of the series is ‘The Shadow Thieves’. The two girls land in the Underworld only to discover that the world is filled with Nightmares, Pain, and Death.

The onus of saving everyone on Earth and in the Underworld lies on them. Unfortunately, they cannot divulge their secret of being saviors as they are forced to confine this knowledge to themselves.

This makes the girls stuck in a state of ordinariness. The grandson of the second most powerful God, Philonecron will take revenge from the girls. And this time, the girls need to save themselves.


Aru Shah and the End of Time (The Pandava Series)

Roshani Chokshi has written this amazing book. The story coincides with the modern world and the mythical The main character is a twelve-year-old girl Aru, who poses a tendency of stretching the truth.

She will be spending her autumn break at home while her classmates go to exotic locations. One day in an attempt to impress some friends at school, she lights a cursed lamp and frees an ancient demon whose intent is to awaken the God of Destruction.

She has to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers if she wants to thwart the imminent destruction. This story is extremely interesting, especially for kids and children.


The Apothecary

Authored by Maile Meloy, the series has an interesting plot. The story is set in the year 1952, against the backdrop of the cold war when the family of the protagonist (Janie) has moved to London from Los Angeles.

Janie is homesick and consults an apothecary. A major highlight of the story is that she becomes fascinated with the apothecary and his son, Benjamin.

In the event of the sudden disappearance of his father, Janie must use the secret book Pharmacopoeia, to find his whereabouts. However, she must also prevent the book from getting in the hands of Russians, who want to carry out a nuclear attack. There are numerous potions that can turn humans into birds, spies, etc.


Children of the Lamp Series

The author is B. Kerr. This is a series of contemporary fantasy novels. The major highlight of these stories is that these are suitable for kids, children and young adults alike. The main theme of the series is an adventure.

A total of seven books are included in the series. In the story, Twins John and Philippa Gaunt are descendants of genies. They can use the powers of djinn. The siblings can grant wishes and make things disappear. Contrary to this, they don’t know the way to control their powers until they meet their Uncle Nimrod. The series will appeal to anyone who is fond of the Aladdin’s folk tale and the Arabian nights.


Dragon Pearl

Dragon Pearl

This bestseller is authored by Yoon Ha Lee. In this story, science fiction and Korean myth collide. The character named Min embarks on the quest to find her missing brother. Despite belonging to a line of fox spirits, Min does take the help of fox magic. However, in order to save her brother Jun and her planet, she has to use magic.

Min will meet gamblers, pirates, and vengeful ghosts during her journey. The protagonist’s journey will be marked by deception, lies, and sabotage. This sci-fi mythology will take you to an exciting world where there is no limit to your imagination. This further makes the series a unique fit for kids, children, and teens.


Will Wilder Series

It is a collection of three fantasy storybooks from bestselling author Raymond Arroyo. These stories are highly intriguing. The pivotal character is Will Wilder who borrows a sacred relic believed to protect the town of Perilous Falls for nearly a century. However, he unwittingly awakens an evil force.

He has to unleash his potential and kill the enemy who is determined to devastate his Will’s great-aunt Lucille, a museum curator will assist him in fixing things with the supernatural artifacts. This is not an ordinary fantasy story. You’ll even come across a WWII soldier named Jacob Wilder, who has set out on a mission to secure sacred objects from the Bible.


Gods of Manhattan

A children’s novel by the author Scott Mebus. It contains the story of Rory Hennessy who develops the ability to see spirit city that exists in parallel with Manhattan. This spirited city is full of legendary persons.

Apart from sidewalks, skyscrapers, and pigeons, you’ll notice many different and weird things in this city. The city mushrooms with warrior cockroaches, malevolent subway trains, Kung Fu rodents, children made of papier-mache, and other weird creatures.

Rory must find a way to liberate the Munsees who are held hostages in Central Park. Get ready to see your hero saving the lives of inhabitants. The plot is quite interesting and the story can light up your free time with adventure.


Conclusion

We hope that this article will help you to select the best book for your children or any loved one. Surprise the young people by gifting these awesome books. Reading is a great habit and will eventually widen the horizon of young minds. Hence, adults should decide the best novel for their younger ones. Don’t forget to acquaint yourself with the taste of the readers before buying a book for them. The next step is to purchase the right storybook. You can go for an eBook or a paperback.

Comments are closed.